Vegan cucumber yogurt soup

IMG_20140622_155246372

My mom used to make a cucumber soup that I really liked growing up, but it was definitely not vegan since it had yogurt and sour cream. I tried a few variations on vegan versions and liked this mixture I came up with.

Ingredients:

4 cucumbers (I didn’t peel them, just tossed them into the blender after cutting them in a few chunks)

about 10 ounces of plain yogurt (I used so delicious cultured coconut yogurt)

1 avocado

2 heads of chopped garlic

a tablespoon of lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste (can also add dill)

water as needed (I like thick soup so I didn’t use any water)

Directions: blend everything together and taste it and adjust the ingredients as needed

 

One thing I love about this cold soup is that you don’t have to microwave it, so you can eat it while your baby is napping and not have to worry about making too much noise in the kitchen 🙂

Jack also enjoyed helping wash the cucumbers and put them from their bowl into the blender.

Leave a comment